Salesian Tennis: An Interview with Captain Gerhard Lenz

By Silas Gonzalez’24

Tennis Captain Gerhard Lenz provides his process of practicing and playing tennis.

First off, the question on everyone’s mind is, is it pronounced Gerhard or Gerhard?

It’s Gerhard.

Perfect. What motivated you to become a sportsperson?

Ever since I was young I was introduced to tennis, it ran on both sides of my family. I had myself, my brother, and my two cousins, and we played since we were five years old. I joined the team because I wanted to be really good at it.

What do you do other than tennis?

I like basketball, watching basketball games are my favorite. I swim from time to time. I’ve been trying to pick up reading more often. I read every once in a while. I juggle.

Juggle?! You juggle?!

(Laughs) I learned how while I was bored at work. I work at Westchester County Pools, and I’d juggle during lunch. 

How do you train for tennis?

I try to focus on playing with someone who’s better than me, I play with my cousin often, for example. I try to hit the ball as hard as I can during practice.

Do you think playing tennis can be debilitating?

I would say so. You have to maintain a certain standard of fitness, and tennis is a very mental game. A big mental game. If your opponent can get in your head, know how you swing, know your habits, you’re at a disadvantage. So you have to switch things up, while also studying your opponent.

Who is your favorite tennis player?

Roger Federer is a tennis player that I look up to a lot. My parents and I grew up watching his games a lot. I model my backhand off of his backhand (laughs.)

What are your favorite aspects of being a tennis player?

I might say some cliche stuff (laughs.) It’s not like soccer or basketball, whereas you work with a team. Doubles are more oriented around communication. As the tennis captain, I try to find out ways to lead and coach them.

How has it been, being a tennis captain?

It’s gone well, I’d say my team takes what I suggest to heart, which I’m pretty proud of. I try to see how I can improve the team. I work together with our coach to organize practice, and build lineups for the games.

How do you organize practice?

It depends mostly on skill level. I try to pit a more advanced player to train a rookie player. If I see if they need any work, I try to be more specific with the way they “backhand” or whatever.

How have games gone this year?

Our most recent game was Brooklyn. We were close to winning, the score was 2-3. But most of our games, at the very least, I see improvement in everyone. 

How do you feel when you’re playing tennis?

When I’m playing tennis in a competition, I question if I’m the better player, or if he is making mistakes. So when it ends, I know I should be training further, rather than just assuming I’m better than this section.

What is your favorite memory of being a student-athlete?

When I was elected team captain, the then-captain was close to me. Playing tennis with him and taking his advice was super useful to me.

What is the best advice you have ever received from a coach?

Well, Mr. Schoenherr was my brother’s coach. And last year he told me to “always hit to the backhand.” Do you remember that?

Oh yeah! He would tell you tennis tips during Geometry.

Exactly (laughs,) it worked for me too. I almost always play with right-hand players, so I know how to beat them. I learned how to be confident with my own decisions that way. Advice from experienced coaches is always nice to learn.