The Holy Month of Ramadan

By Ibrahim Malik ‘24

The greatest time of the year for Muslims, Ramadan is the 9th month of the Islamic year, which is based on the lunar calendar. It is the holiest month for Muslims because it was when the Quran was first revealed to the Prophet Muhammad. In Ramadan, fasting is mandated for all Muslims from dawn until sunset for the full month, but exceptions are given to children, the sick, and travelers to name a few. Although fasting does constitute abstaining from food and water, to reap the full reward, one must also fast from all other senses, like controlling one’s tongue and safeguarding one’s ears. 

The purpose of fasting in Islam is to attain God-consciousness, as one gives up essential needs for something higher than oneself. Fasting also builds one’s self-discipline and concern for the less fortunate who may regularly skip meals. In addition, fasting allows a person to block out distractions and dedicate time to getting closer to God. This is why Ramadan is often seen as a spiritual boot camp.

My day as a Muslim student begins around five when I wake up for the pre-dawn meal known as suhoor. After eating a couple of bites with half an eye open, I perform the first prayer of the day. I go on to stay up and get a little studying in, before heading out to school. After coming back home, I take a nap and then read the Quran to gain a better understanding of my faith. Soon enough, I gather with my family to have iftar, the meal with which we break our fast. I then head over to my mosque for the night and Taraweeh prayer, an optional prayer held every night that lasts around 90 minutes with frequent breaks, where I lead prayer for the youth, reciting the passages I reviewed earlier in the day. 

My favorite part of Ramadan is the community aspect. Seeing familiar faces every night and worshiping in a congregation of hundreds creates a unique festive mood. Enjoying community iftars and going on late-night ice cream runs foster sentimental memories that stick with you for the next 11 months. Ramadan is a complete package, with spiritual, social, and health benefits, all topped with a joyous holiday at the end known as Eid-ul-Fitr, or “Festival of breaking the fast.”